The 6th Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals found that the allegations of electoral fraud Powell and others had pushed were baseless, frivolous or even refuted by their own filings.

The court held that Powell and five other lawyers — Howard Kleinhendler, Julia Zsuzsa Haller, Scott Hagerstrom, Brandon Johnson and Gregory Rohl — must pay a total of more than $152,000 in sanctions, a reduction from the $175,000 penalty initially imposed on them.